Food is usually an indispensable part of any event. Ensuring you take the different dietary requirements that your guests might have into account is not just considerate, it is required when serving food at an event.
To make it easier to plan the menu at your next event, ensure that you ask guests if they have any of the most common dietary requirements listed below, when you send out the invitations.
People who are vegan follow a plant-based diet with no animal products. They do not eat fish, meat, eggs or dairy products.
Vegetarians follow a plant-based diet and do not eat meat or fish, and sometimes avoid other animal products as well.
This diet is similar to the vegetarian diet in the sense that pescetarians do not eat meat, although they do eat fish, in addition to a plant-based diet.
For Muslims, pork, lard, or any pork substance is forbidden, as well as gelatine or any animal product from a source that is not Halaal. Meat that is not Halaal, as well as any form of food or drink that contains alcohol is not permitted. Gallagher Convention Centre has been certified by the National Independent Halaal Trust, and is a strictly Halaal venue.
Gelatine, emulsifiers and stabilisers of animal origin, non-kosher meat, and non-kosher fish like prawns, shellfish, turbot skate and sturgeon are all forbidden.
A lactovegetarian diet is followed by some Hindus. This means that meat, poultry, fish and eggs are forbidden. Beef is not permitted and some Hindus also avoid onions, garlic, alcohol, tea and coffee.
When planning your menu, remember to consider that many people can have severe allergic reactions to certain types of food. Inform guests, should your menu contain any of these: